Ex-011 Ascending and Descending Quads

Ex-011 Ascending and Descending Quads Feature Image

Use these exercises to build speed and to avoid sounding like you’re playing scales.

A quad is a grouping of four notes.  Two exercises that use quads are given below.  One ascends and the other descends.  Each quad follows a distinct pattern, which shifts the first note by one in the major scale.  Ascending the first four quads are as follows.

  1. C-D-E-F
  2. D-E-F-G
  3. E-F-G-A
  4. F-G-A-B

Similarly, you can descend with quads by shifting down one note in the scale for each quad.

Here are a few tips

  1. Try different scales with quads.  The following ones use the C major scale.
  2. Try to figure out the most efficient fingerings.
  3. Notice the difference between 3 notes per string and 2 notes per string.
  4. Try to figure out the most efficient picking method: alternate picking, economy picking, etc.

These exercises were written, notated, and recorded by James Coulthard.  Although they are recorded at a fast tempo, I recommend using a metronome to start slowly.  These can be tricky.  Enjoy!

Ex-011 Ascending and Descending Quads

Subscribe for Free Content, Tips, and More!

3 Reasons to Subscribe to the GLW Newsletter:

  1. Free Stuff! You'll get free content that is exclusive to my newsletter subscribers!
  2. Content tailored to you. Over time, I'll get to learn more about you and deliver content that motivates you to learn, play and be inspired!
  3. No spam. Just real content that's meant to make a difference in your playing

Enter your name and email, and you're on your way!

We won't send you spam. Unsubscribe at any time. Powered by ConvertKit
Hello again! You're already subscribed to the GLW newsletter. Thank you for being a part of the GLW community. If you have a question, just send an email using my contact page. I'd be happy to help!

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.